Progress Update: 9/12/20

Hello there! We’re back and have a little bit of explaining to do, yeah?

Before I give an explanation as to why we’ve been missing so long, I’d like to do what I usually do and type out the progress made to the game this week for those who don’t want to watch the video. I’m also doing this first in the even that you don’t care where we’ve been or why.

Anyway, there has been some great progress made! Earlier this week, we continued working on the player, re-implementing his previous attacks as well as adding an extra aerial attack as well as a few polishing effects. OH! And we also came up with the new name of our game! That name is…!

Apostid!

After this was finished, the first play tester debug build was released for our play testers to try out! Not only did they give incredibly useful feedback and good ideas, they also found an almost embarrassingly large amount of glitches and exploits. As the programmer, my next priority will be fixing up all of those bugs they found and seeing what makes the game the most fun to the play testers. This will give us a good idea on the direction we want to consider heading.

After sending the build to the play testers, we decided to start working on a new and improved title screen since the one that was in the game previously was barely functional. Although most of you probably haven’t seen the previous title screen, take my word that this new one is on the way to being so much better than the last.

Anyway, that’s all for the actual progress update of the game, now onto why we were gone and what is going to happen next with the schedule.

As you all may know pretty clearly by now, I am struggling immensely with posting a video every week. During the past couple of weeks where there were no updates to the game, school was starting for me and the others on the team, and we decided that our education was the top priority at the time.

This may come as bad news to a lot of you, and it definitely is a bit disheartening for me, but I’ve been doing a lot of thinking on the schedule, and I really want to find something consistent and doable. This means that doing a progress video every single week is no longer an option, especially with school well on its way into the year.

My solution to this is simple. I’ll just post a video every two weeks instead. This will give me a single week to work on the game and a single week to work on my education, so progress on the game will slow down just a tad bit, but it’s mainly for the health of everyone on the team.

I know I’ve said I’ve been trying to get on a schedule, I really have been. That’s why I’m going to start working double hard to keep on this new schedule instead. I’m a bit sick and tired of posting updates consistently late, y’know?

Anyway, the new schedule starts now, so next video will be posted two weeks from today. Hope you all have a wonderful rest of your day!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started